Welcome

The first time I sat with my parents in the waiting room of the Cooper Cancer Institute, I was struck by not just the number of patients who walked through the door, but by how many of them carried a tote bag with a fleece blanket tucked inside.

As my mom and I walked my dad in for his appointment, the reason became apparent – the temperature in the treatment room dropped considerably. The first thing my dad said as he settled into his chair was, “I sure wish I brought my blanket with me…it’s cold in here!” Not only is the room kept cooler, but as we all soon learned, being cold is a side effect of chemotherapy.

While hospital blankets are of course provided, they are the standard, thin sort. Hardly the type I’d imagine would provide any real warmth and comfort. Judging by the blankets other patients chose to bring, fleece is the fabric of choice.

As I drove home that day my thoughts never left those patients who – like my dad – could use all the comfort they could get at this point in their lives. That’s when the light in my head went off and Layers of Love: Comforting Cancer Patients One Blanket at a Time was born.

Our mission is to provide comfort and warmth to patients like my Dad who are undergoing chemotherapy treatment at Cooper Cancer Institute.

And we’re asking for your help. We’re collecting new, homemade, no sew fleece tied blankets to make chemotherapy patient’s experience more comfortable.

Why fleece? Not only is it warm, but it is soft and breathable. And unlike wool, it is machine washable.

Please consider donating a new, homemade fleece blanket. Never made one before?  Not a problem.  There are ready-made kits available for purchase at JoAnn Fabrics or elsewhere online.  All you have to do is drop them off to me or put them in the mail to the address listed below. We will ensure all donations are hand delivered to the Cooper Cancer Institute.

You can follow us on Twitter.

Become a fan on facebook.

Have questions?  Contact us:  patty@layersoflove.net

Mailing Address:

Layers of Love

154 Galway Circle

Chalfont, PA 18914

7 thoughts on “Welcome

  1. I am so in awe of you. As you know, I was with my stepmother while she traveled her journey, I watched my Aunt travel her own journey, and I offered as much strength as possible during Baby S’s journey. It might take a while, but I will be contributing to this amazing effort. xoxo

  2. I’ve never made one of these blankets but I’m about to start. I may only be able to do once a month but it will be one more person in a chemo treatment room that’s warmer. 🙂 ILY Patty! You’re an amazing woman!

  3. Pingback: puntiglio.com » A friend in need is a friend in deed…

  4. Pingback: Happy Father’s Day « Layers of Love

  5. Pingback: 3 Years, 600 Blankets and Counting! « Layers of Love

  6. Pingback: A Father’s Day Tribute to My Dad Who Was Not Defined By Cancer | Layers of Love

Leave a Reply

